On Thursday, September 29th 2016, over 300 people attended IEC’s 2016 Environmental Leadership Dinner where we were excited to have State Treasurer Mike Frerichs speak! We would like to thank everyone who attended and made it a great evening. And be sure to check out some great pictures by clicking here.

In particular, we would like to thank all of the 2016 Environmental Leadership Award winners:

State Representative Silavana Tabares
for her work on expanding the Illinois Environmental Justice Commission.
State Rep. Tabares receiving her award from Kim Wasserman (LVEJO)

Elected Director Dave Segel for 20 years with IEC.
Dave Segel accepting his award

State Senator Heather Steans for her work on
the Lead in Drinking Water Prevention Act.
State Senator Heather Steans with Loyola students on lobby day

Republican sponsors of the Illinois Clean Jobs bill
Pictured, left to right: Rep. Fortner, Rep. Wehrli, Rev. Brian Sauder, Jen Walling, Lenore Beyer-Clow, Rep. Andersson & Rep. Tryon.
Not pictured: Rep. McAuliffe, Rep. Wheeler & Rep. Winger.
Republican sponsors of the Clean Jobs bill

Jack Darin
Winner of the 2016 Karen May Environmental Leadership Award 
Jack Darin and Jen Walling

Share →

Partners for Parks and Wildlife

Partners for Parks and Wildlife (PPW) is a grassroots coalition that is dedicated to secure and increase funding for open space and park acquisition, natural area preservation, wildlife habitat protection and recreational opportunities in Illinois.

Learn More About Climate Change

The U.S. EPA’s website on climate change was once a great resource for basic scientific information on the topic and we look forward to the day that it is again. Until then, the City of Chicago is making sure its citizens have access to research and information.


One of the simplest ways to donate to the IEC is by contributing through EarthShare in your workplace charity campaign .